The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

I strongly agree with the speaker’s assertion that the surest indicator of a great nation is fundamentally determined by the general welfare of its people. Admittedly, the achievements of its rulers, artists or people from various fields might serve as an indicator of a great nation, but it can only be an accessory, not a necessity.

The first reason why I agree with the speaker’s statement is concerning with the final pursuit of a great nation. Countries in any democratic world or socialist world will no exceptionally set the improvement of the general welfare of its people as their ultimate goal. Special report on those representatives of its public figures, renowned scientists and artists, are all deemed as the inclination to a preference with a minuscule group of people in sociologists eyes, who believe this action would just bring about a social frenzy to emulate for the representatives and thus it’s harmful for the society. For example, any despotic country would place its supreme leader to the extent that comparable to the god, as a result, people under that regime will have to live in accordance with the ways its leader advocates, in any situation we can hardly name this country as a great one.

The second reason deals with the should-be good ethics a great nation should advocate. Despite the fact that a so-called great nation might claim it has a host of excellent specialists or world-renowned artists, without the fundamental enquiry about the core ethics owned by these people, the recession of it will only be a matter of time. For example, in the late 18th century when Great Britain still held as the dominant power in this world, however, due to its failure to reflect on the determinants of its position,that is, the good ethics held by its people, those more down-to-earth Americans who valued similar good ethics then overtook its dominance indicating its later vitalization and prosperity. Thus, a great nation is not represented by its achievements, but by the brilliant spirits held by its people.

Those steadfast supporter of chauvinists might display a strong agreement with the speaker. Supporters might disregard the overall welfare of its people and claim that thanks to some critical achievements of certain group of people wins the whole nation’s reputation in the world. Accrediting the accomplishments solely to those people is actually separated the foundation from its result. In my observation, most of those achievements were funded by governments, where its money directly came from its taxpayers. In other words, complete and achieve such accomplishments inextricably bears a relationship with its people. Reversely, taxpayers’ contributions can better serve to resulting in more achievement of such kind.

In sum, the speaker overly simplify the determinant of a great nation. When it comes to the judgement of a great nation, consider achievements is by no means a sole indicator, but to add the general welfare of its people in this issue.