The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of

its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether a nation's greatness could be evaluated by the general welfare of its citizen rather than the achievement of scientists, artists, and rulers could be weighed in many aspects. However, the claim is problematic since the author fails to specify both "general welfare" and "greatness" in the first place.

Admittedly, the author's claim might appear to have considerable merits. After all, providing well-established general welfare should be one of the cornerstones in any modern country. Yet the speaker fails to provide a precise litmus test for measuring “a great nation”. For example, despite the Chinese government has been infamous for its illiberal laws and system, its immense market influence still lends credence to its bargaining power on the international negotiation. In this case, although most of the residents are under surveillance, China still shouldn't be ruled out of the lists of great nations.

At the same time, the author fails to clarify the meaning of "general welfare" as well. When we speak of “general welfare”, several terminologies can be put forth: personal welfare like happiness, and public welfare such as safety, public health, and employment. For instance, Korea has a superb public health care system that allows its citizens to pay low or no-cost on most of the domestic medical services while its suicide rate by years tops any Asian country. Given this point, how can we conclude Korea's general welfare of its people?

Furthermore, the achievement of scientists, artists, and political leaders can also give a boost to the nation's general welfare development. There was a myriad of prominent Italian artists during the period of renaissance. These artists' legacy has attracted tens of thousands of tourists from every place on earth and helped bolster the local economy. In this case, individual achievements play an important role in the contribution to the nation's welfare.

In summary, the claim isn't as persuasive as it stands. Although general welfare could be one of the standards to assess a country's greatness, the credits of individual achievements by luminaries shouldn't be excluded from the list. Also, despite fulfilling people's welfare is never the goal of an autocracy government such as China, it's huge impaction on international society is not negligible. According to the expositions mentioned previously, I hold the position that the general welfare of a country's citizens shouldn't be considered the surest indicator of a great nation.