The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some posit that the status of a nation is reflected by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. However, this may not be the case; a "great" nation depends on the definition that is being used. In this case, a great nation would be one that upholds the rights and protects the lives of its people. I argue that the alternate way of thinking--which focuses entirely on individual achievements--identifies an influential rather than great nation, and limits the scope by which a great nation is defined. Rather, the general welfare of the people more accurately reflects the greatness of a nation, in addition to providing evidence of high-quality rulers and scientists.

Through the welfare of the people, one can infer the aptitude of the nation's leaders. For example, the status of the United States as a generally thriving nation with many basic human rights reflects the quality of past leaders. That is, these leaders demonstrated a simultaneous insight and strength to lead. However, individual achievements of rulers do not necessarily comment on the "greatness" of a nation because they may not pertain the the welfare of the people. Nevertheless, the ways in which rulers apply their achievements to their people should be present in the welfare of the people, which indirectly reflects the "greatness" of that nation.

Furthermore, the welfare of the people within a nation should also directly pertain the the innovation by its scientists. However, individual achievements by scientists will not necessarily relate to the "greatness" of a nation because some--or perhaps all--of these innovations may not have been shared with its people. For example, the status of the United States as relatively free of measles reflects the achievements of these scientists in this area, as well as their willingness to share it freely with this nation. Nevertheless, there are other nations where such cures exist, but have not been shared with the public or are not readily available to most. Therefore, the achievements of such scientists do not necessarily reflect the greatness of that nation.

Finally, the achievements of artists do not seem to pertain to the greatness of a nation, but rather to its influential nature. A "great" nation may be forward-thinking artistically; however, this is highly dependent on one's definition of "great." The greatness of a nation should identify it as a well-rounded one that excels in all or most areas, including the welfare of its people. Therefore, while nations such as France may have been highly influential in the spread of Gothicism throughout Europe, this is only one aspect of a larger picture that defines the greatness of a nation.

The notion that the "greatness" of a nation can be revealed through the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists is quite parochial in relation to the indirect inferences that can be drawn from the general welfare of its people. While the achievements of rulers, scientists, and artists can be very telling with regards to the individual intelligence and capabilities of important figures within a nation, it is not necessarily an accurate depiction of a nation's greatness. Rather, the general welfare of the people can more accurately depict the greatness of a nation, in addition to evidencing the quality of its rulers, scientists, and perhaps artists.