The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The concerns of this vice president are quite valid; however, there remain various flaws in his logic. Such holes produce questions that need answering before such a prediction can be expected or confirmed. For instance, one must understand the extent to which this national survey pertains to their employees--especially since there is no indication of sampling procedures or survey validity. The vice president also fails to evaluate when their employees harness the Internet for personal use and whether there is a relationship between Internet use and productivity. All of these assumptions culminate into a highly inaccurate and potentially damaging prediction.

Firstly, while the vice president acknowledges the statistics from the national survey, he fails to answer the question: how do our employees compare to the rest of the nation? This is also assuming that the national survey was done correctly; a correct survey involves random sampling and valid measures. But I digress: without an answer to this question, one cannot conclude that this Internet use problem pertains to this company. If such a problem does not exist, then it would be imprudent to waste resources monitoring Internet use and the prediction would be inaccurate. The company should perform a representative survey to find out.

However, if the answer to this question is "yes," then a problem does exist and action may need to be taken. There lies the next question, which can be answered through a simple survey: are the employees actually wasting time with this Internet use? When exactly do employees use the Internet? If employees are using the Internet while off the clock or during related times, then there would be no reason to pursue Internet monitoring technology. Therefore, the prediction would prove null.

Nevertheless, if both of the above questions are true, then the next question becomes: what is the relationship between Internet use and productivity within this company? The vice president should look into research on this topic. If there is no relationship between Internet use and productivity, then monitoring Internet use would not yield any benefits in productivity and profit, as predicted. In fact, previous studies suggest that providing downtime for employees and opportunities to handle personal measures increases productivity. Therefore, monitoring Internet use may actually decrease productivity and profit.

Overall, the vice president has valid concerns; however, he also fails to evaluate the extent to which this survey pertains to their specific employees, whether employees are using the Internet at appropriate times, and the extent to which Internet use relates to productivity. Without answers to these questions, the prediction is not accurate. Answering these questions will provide the company with insight as to whether Internet use is a problem within their company and whether monitoring that use would affect productivity. Similarly, it is important to consider the implications of monitoring Internet use on employee morale, which might also affect productivity and profits. In this way, failing to answer these questions first might might harm rather than augment productivity and profits.