The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nations take pride in accomplishments of individuals, especially in the twenty-first century in which individuals’ globally recognized achievements are deemed invaluable to a nation’s asset and paramount to its competitiveness across the globe. Countries have always aspired to leave an indelible imprint on the world’s map and therefore underscored the importance of advancing certain fields of knowledge, such as science or art or humanities. Granted, making a nation great cannot be solely contingent upon the aforementioned. The welfare of the nation’s people is considered critical since people are more likely to contribute more to a nation should they are guaranteed a carefree life by the nation. Before any discussion is pursued or any stance is taken up, however, one needs to first define the word “great.”

When it comes to assaying the success or the flourishing of a given nation, what indicators are capitalized on? What makes a nation great? Is it determined by the level of education that people receive? Is it decided by how robust the economy is? Is it settled by how safe people feel? Tackling this question can in fact commence from the definition of what great men are in history. Do great men in history get their accolade for their wealth? Do they receive their veneration for their education? Do they obtain their recognition for their cerebral achievements? No! Great men in history better human races, advance human civilizations, and most importantly, contribute to the general welfare of all human populations. Take Albert Einstein. His discovery of relativity has led to a world replete with far-reaching implications and advancements. He is considered great. Another relevant example is Martin L. King Jr. His impassioned and uncompromising spirit to advocate for equal civil rights has landed himself as a beacon in the Civil Rights Movement in 1954 in the United States. He is considered great. Another comes from Nelson Mandela, who is globally applauded and recognized for having freed South African from apartheid. He is considered great. One can readily discern the common denominator shared among these people: they all channel human races into an era where humans are free, spiritually and physically. History is forever transmogrified by these people’s achievements and sacrifices. If these men are unanimously considered “great,” one can certainly extend the analogy and the reasoning and make a cogent argument that a great nation is composed of these great people and these great people can be rulers, artists, or scientists. Consider Nelson Mandela again. He was the anti-apartheid revolutionary and at the same time, the President of South Africa from 1994 to 1999. His legacy and political achievements has made him the father of the nation and a global icon for his anti-racist and anti-colonial advocation. One can therefore asseverate that the surest indicator of a great nation can be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, as evidenced by the exemplar of Nelson Mandela.

Furthermore, the underlying foundation of people’s welfare and a nation’s prosperity stems from breakthroughs or achievements that rulers, scientists, or artists demonstrate. To wit, the most elemental element to ensure a great nation’s well-being or thriving For instance, Edward Jenner, also the father of immunology, is the pioneer of smallpox vaccine, without which, the rampage of small pox might have still pervaded and plagued human beings. Jenner’s scientific findings and discoveries made English a strong and puissant nation in the eighteenth century. Michelangelo, a world-wide renowned Italian artist, devised clever ways to paint frescos by using scaffolds and a wide variety of painting techniques to make the paintings sink into and glued to the walls as fast as possible. His ingenious drowning techniques not only help polarize frescoes used in churches but also makes Italy the hub of artistic achievements, Renaissance taking place in Italy being one prime example.

However, sometimes, one cannot entirely overlook the robustness of welfare that a nation’s people have when appraising whether a nation is great or not. Switzerland has one of the nicely-orchestrated health care systems in the world, where people can therefore be freed from the taxing medication fee and nearly-impossible affordability of prescription, even though reports pertinent of Switzerland having luminous scientists or phenomenal artists or world-changing leaders are rarely heard of. Notwithstanding this, the line of reasoning still needs to be further analyzed and studied. Without the achievements of Swiss scientists researching the most efficacious vaccines, injections, talents, and the like and Swiss rulers enacting health laws, could Switzerland relish the prestige and the fame of possessing the best health care system in the world? Without a proper enactment of health care laws and systems by rulers and law-makers, how can Swiss denizens embrace the boons of its health care system?

Although there are still many points in the prompt that may render more and further discussions, it is logically insufficient to state that the surest indicator of a great nation comes from the welfare of all its people. Indeed, welfare has its role and appeals that may serve as a good indicator of a great nation, but the most important factor that settles down this issue can be traced back to the achievements of a nation’s rulers, artists, and scientists.