Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Should educators' salaries be based on the performance of their students? There is not simple answer on this question due to the fact that this policy has some advantages and disadvantages as well. The policy is created to motivate teachers to do their job the best way possible but unfortunately, students' academic performance does not solely depend on educators' skills and knowledge. Therefore, I disagree with the issue.

To begin with, the aim of the policy is clear to motivate teachers to do their job better. In fact, a clear understanding of the connection between their work and salary may lead to significant increase in students’ average because the same material may be taught differently with distinct results. For instance, when I was studying at University, I have a grave problem with understanding of physiology, the professor, who read lectures, was old and disinterested in material, perhaps, he have read the same lectures for twenty years; my hardships were ended when a new educator was hired. This person was young and energetic and tried to alleviate the subject and make it interesting; as a result, my score skyrocketed as well as understanding of physiology. This case demonstrates that often students' academic performance is connected with teacher's actions and his/her willingness to teach. So, may we aver that policy ought to be implemented?

Unfortunately, the answer on the question is "no" due to the fact that not always students' success depends solely on teachers' work. Students differ from each other, some of them bright and some not clever, the level of their motivation may differ significantly from student to student as well. For example, in my group we have a guy, who did not want to study at university but his parents insisted on it. His performance was below average and any teacher did not manage to motivate him. This example illustrates that academic performance depends on many factors and some of them cannot be controlled by teachers and thus it seems unreasonable to base educators' salary on it.

Furthermore, as we know sometimes benevolent incentives may lead to unexpected and often malevolent results. In case of this policy teachers may try to find alternative ways to enhance students' performance. For instance, taught material may be deliberately alleviated and some difficult but important themes may be omitted. Moreover, perhaps, the requirements for students may be lowered as well. On the other hand, educators may try to select students in order to improve students' performance; in this case, persons who struggle to absorb material will be neglected or even stimulated to drop the course.

In conclusion, the proposed policy is aimed to motivate teachers to perform their job the best way possible, this is a decent goal which may be achieved by it; however, the fulfillment of the proposed policy may have some unwanted aftermaths such as discrimination of students because of their performance or lowering of teachers' standards of estimation of students' performance. Moreover, students' success is created by a wide-range of factors many of which are beyond teacher's possibility to control, consequently, the basing educators' salaries on the performance seems to be not only harmful but unreasonable as well.