Teachers’ salaries should be based on academic performance of their students

The quality and performance of teachers were the subject of many research works for many past decades and in the present. In this way, although many people are the leading proponents of the claim that teachers’ salaries should be linked to students’ performance, I firmly believe that teachers’ salaries should not be correlated to the academic performances of their students. Among many reasons why I hold this opinion, three stand out and will be discussed later in this essay.

The first thing that juts out of mind easily at the first moment of thinking about it is the fact that paying teachers based on their students' performance will not improve the level of learning among student and also level teaching among trainers as well. The intention of “pay for performance” which includes supplementing teacher pay or providing bonuses based on student test scores may lead to omitting a proper competitive environment in academical centers. For example, some teachers who want to receive more salary and bonus may allocate higher scores for weaker students, therefore it casts doubts about the system’s fairness and can be a cause of further problem in the education system of a society.

The second reason that is worth considering is the fact that from my viewpoint, paying trainers according to their students' performance will not attract strong teacher in the education system. There are many academic research that show mixing financial matter and teaching issues for teachers in educational centers may lead to diminish the original mission of education. For instance, when a teacher who has a good performance based on the results of their student’s exams, can abuse his or her potions and be a businessman beside a teacher. It can can cause to losing of motivation of many young and talented teachers.

The last but not the least important reason is performance pay will lead to more formatted testing. In this way, the teachers cannot evaluate the regular level of knowledge of students because they focus teaching on the limited aspects of skills and content that exams cover. In this situation, some skills of students that need to creativity of deep thinking may be ignored in the exam. For example, many students are strong in general areas all at the same time; however, aptitude and abilities of students in some specific areas such as poetry or pottery are generally neglected in a formatted exam.

To wrap it up, based on the aforementioned arguments, there are many reasons which can be persuasive enough in order to prove that the salaries of the teachers should not be coordinated with their students’ performance. Some of these reasons are mentioned above such as problem with the fairness of the educational testing system, making an unequal competition environment, and ignoring specific skills of talented students. However, that was just a shot out of the cannon. Obviously, there are many other reasons and examples, challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above.