Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Teachers are the pillars of education. They have responsibility of imparting knowledge to students. While some may argue that teacher’s salary should be based on the student’s success, they ignore the fact that teachers cannot solely make a student progress in life. Students have to be persevering and go further from where the teacher’s role stops.

To begin with, students are more responsible for their academics than teachers. Teachers can only do their best to teach students and the rest is upon students. They need to revise the concepts and understand them clearly. For instance, school conduct extra classes before exams for better preparation of the students. In this way, teachers are making diligent efforts on their part. If the students rely only on the teacher and perform poorly, then teacher is not responsible for their bad performance. Thus, teacher’s salary should be based on the duties performed, not the student’s academics.

Furthermore, teachers do not completely have the freedom to decide the time table of the students. Sometimes, a lot of syllabus is left and exams are near. However, teachers have to somehow teach in the specific time given to them.

Some may argue that teachers have the onus of student’s success. Parents send their children to school and college thinking that this will lead to their children’s success. If a student performs well in academics, teachers are also applauded. But when students do not succeed, it can be because of their own reckless attitude.