Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Teachers are the building blocks of an institution. They perform a very paramount task of educating the people. Student’s learning is based on myriad of factors. Some may say that teacher’s salary should be based on student’s learning. However, I do not believe this way for the reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, teachers alone cannot make the students learn the concepts. Every student attends the same class but the amount of self-study they do accounts for the difference in learning the concepts. For instance, when I was at university, I used to devote a lot of time studying at home and focused on the concepts which were unclear to me. As a result, I got good grades. Students who only relied on the teacher blamed her if they were not able to grasp the things taught at class. This led to teachers getting paid low despite their hard work.

Furthermore, teachers should be paid according to their capabilities. If a teacher instructs in an efficient way, she should be paid more. Take the case of my school. Principal used to inspect classes and judge the teachers based on their teaching methods. In addition, the students were also asked for the feedback of the teacher. In this way, teachers could not be held responsible if a student could not understand the theory. As a result, the teacher received salary in proportion to her efforts irrespective of the students’ grade.

To sum up, teacher’s pay should solely depend upon their task and not the student’s efforts because students also have a part in process of learning and teachers should be judged upon their effectiveness of teaching.