Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn. Give specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Teachers are fundamental for society's progress. No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of teachers being paid according to the student’s performance. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely disagree about it for a number of reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, education is not a competition. If the salary of the teachers were according to how much students learn, that could create a competitive environment between professors. Everyone would like to be at the top, even though this means committing cheating in the evaluation processes. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my personal experience. You see, when I was in high school, we were evaluated by the government with a very long and tough exam. Not only we as students were concerned about this, the academic staff too. This is because our school will be graded, as same as the teachers of each subject. As a result, evaluators could award my school with financial support, and specific benefits for professors and directors. Embarrassingly, the teachers decided to help some students during the test, altering the real results, so, my school received the recognition that year. Moreover, in order not to lose that level, they continue this behavior the following years. For this reason, I disagree with the idea of giving salaries to teachers according to how much students show they learned in a classroom.

Secondly, it is unlikely to have the same initial conditions for every teacher. There are no identical groups of students. We must be aware of the external factors that make this strategy unfair for teachers. In a classroom, there may be people with learning disabilities or family problems, and in the next one, everyone can be free of these mentioned problems. Drawing from my own experience, I used to discuss a lot about this matter with a close friend. We were in different colleges, but at some point, we took the same math course with the same topics to visit. Our results were significantly lower than his group. He stated that the real reason may be that his instructor was better than mine. I refused the statement because I believed that the truth behind those results was more complicated. For instance, that course is a continuation of another, this means that to accurately understand everything, we needed to be taught in previous topics. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Our professor of that subject missed a month of classes because of health problems. Because of the lack of classes, we struggled a lot later. This example demonstrates why depends on a classroom performance is not a good election to establish a professor’s salary.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that teacher’s salary should not depend on how much a student learns. This is because that could become an unnecessary and risky competition environment, also all the groups of students are different.