Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Arts and sports are part of the essence of the human being. It is impossible to imagine a world without these two disciplines. There is no shortage of opinions about how governments should invest their money between these both. In my opinion, I do not agree that it should be spent more money in support of the arts than in athletics teams. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, sports generate competitions around the world. In the short and long term, the governments will find it more profitable to spend money on athletics teams, such as the Olympic ones, than doing the same for arts. For example, China is a very competitive country in all Olympic games. They reach the podium in the vast majority of the events. This is positive for the visibility of the country's athletes, also for the different companies that support and sponsor them. Although China is not the only good example of this, its development as an economy is a reason to believe that they are doing things right in terms of the division of capital resources. It is clear to see why I do not believe that it should be spent more money on arts than sports.

Secondly, in some countries, the low investment from the government to the Olympic teams is already generating problems, not only economically, but socially. Groups of talented and enthusiastic sportsmen and sportswomen are getting frustrated because they cannot reach their dreams due to the lack of economic sources. This affects the picture of the country to the eyes of the world. My personal experience living in a country that has this problem matches perfectly with this. Mexico is well-known as a place where people enjoy very much practicing sports. However, it is not a secret that we face everyday corruption and bad governments that do not administrate the vast capital generated by Mexicans. In the last years, the budget focused on Olympic teams has been decreasing dramatically. As a result, Mexico has had negative results that do not correspond with the talent and discipline of the athletes who go to the competitions. Therefore, spending more money in favor of the arts will carry more serious problems for our people in the sports world. For this reason, I do not support the idea that governments should spend inequitably its money between arts and sports.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the idea that it should be spent more money in support of the arts than on athletics teams. This is because in the short and long term governments will found more profitable to spend money on athletics teams, and low investments from the government to the Olympic teams are already generating problems, not only economically, but social.