Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

A teacher’s salary should not be based on the academic performance of their students. Although academic scores may reflect a small portion of the quality of a student’s education, the majority of their learning experience cannot be tested. Therefore, the quality of a teacher’s performance cannot be accurately reflected in the academic performance of their students and they should not be paid accordingly.

Firstly, students learn a plethora of subjects in school, many of which cannot be easily tested. Initially, one may think of giving a student a quantitative exam full of algebra, trigonometry, and calculus to test his or her math expertise. However, how would a standardized exam test a student’s ability in a course such as public speaking or debate? A teacher’s duty, especially at the elementary and high school level, is to develop a well-rounded pupil who can tackle a variety of problems. Many of these tasks require soft skills, which are very difficult to measure purely based off of academic performance. In addition, many important life skills take years and years to develop, and in the public school system, most students only have a teacher for one year. If that teacher had a positive impact of a student’s learning ability later on in their college years, the teacher has succeeded and deserves monetary compensation for his or her effort.

Secondly, a teacher receives a different pool of students each year with sundry backgrounds, experiences, and fundamental knowledge. Even if a teacher is doing his or her job to the best of their ability, the academic performance of the students may be wanting because of the student’s inexperience with taking those types of exams. It is fathomable that students without a strong foundation in grammar would have difficulty writing intricate persuasive essays. A perceptive teacher, when realizing this, would spend a few weeks, if not months, attempting to bring the students to the appropriate reading and writing levels. However, during this period of time, even though the students are learning, the academic performance of the students may not be increasing. Nonetheless, due to his or her effort, this teacher deserves a higher salary.

Although academic performance is not always an accurate predictor of the amount that a student is learning, the scores that a student receives are far from worthless. Obtaining a high score on a free response exam shows mastery of a particular subject. It would be unfathomable for a student to score an 800 on the Verbal section of the SAT without a firm grasp of vocabulary and reading comprehension. However, academic performance is only one part of a teacher’s ability to coach students. Other factors such as the student’s review of the classroom experience, the ability of the student later on in life, and the extra effort that a teacher puts in should all be considered when determining a teacher’s salary. Although academic performance is important in measuring a teacher’s success, it should only be one of many factors considered when deciding on a teacher’s compensation.

In conclusion, a teacher’s salary should not be solely based off of the academic performance of their students. Since many skills that a teacher is imbuing onto his or her students are immeasurable, academic performance is not an accurate proxy for the ability of a teacher to teach. In addition, due to the variety of students that a teacher receives with different backgrounds, a year-to-year assessment of test scores are not reflective of the quality of a teacher. Given the aforementioned reasons, a teacher’s salary should not be basic off the academic performance of their students.