Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I presume the purpose of this claim is to give an incentive for teachers to teach better in a way that their students' academic performance improves. Increased student performance would be important for prestige of the school and also for the students' future career opportunities. However such a scheme is not feasible because its implicit assumptions are both onerous and dangerous. The issue is that academic performance cannot easily measured in a consistent fashion due to differences in teacher difficulty and teaching style. There are many unintended consequences of this lack of foresight such as teachers lowering the difficulty of their courses to show improved student academic performance, has an overemphasis on academic performance, and

One inevitable consequence of an implementation of the claim would that teachers would inevitably lower the rigor of their courses in order most easily secure their salaries and job. While it is possible to assume that teachers would adopt other strategies to improve academic performance such as adding more effort into teaching, it is naive to think that a less strenous option would happen. That is, a teacher could just decrease the rigor of his material. Even if such a teacher is more morally just, he may be held figurative hostage by his students, who could tank their academic performance to drop their teacher's salary into oblivion or simply choose an easier teacher. From these hypothetical examples, we see that such a policy is in principle flawed between the teacher is no longer independent to teach his material, but rather is anchored to and sometimes forced to the whims of his students.

Another issue seen is that teachers are coerced to have an undue focus on their students' academic performance. While academic performance is a very important for a student and his life, there are other important faucets for him to improve such as his character and his mores. The implications of this policy would result in unbalanced students with good academic performance, but limited social knowledge and real-life knowledge.

I heavily disagree with this claim for the reasons above. It is foolish to assume the best case scenario of such a policy, and so upon closer examination, it is noticeable that it is deluded. Its intended goal is even unlikely to happen or succeed, because human nature unfortunately can twist its good, but misguided intentions. In fact, it would heavily force teachers into unfavorable situations and limit the personal growth of many students. More nuanced solutions are necessary to increase academic performance without compromising teacher integrity and student character.