Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Many people may argue that teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance. But, what if we flipped the coin by suggesting that accomplishing better students' academic performance should be by elevating teachers' salaries?. In my opinion, teachers' salaries should not be affected by students' academic performance.

First, it is pervasive to assume that the performance of students in the class is an indication of the knowledge that they have retained and their development in the class. Students may learn valuable information and gain a worthy experience which may broaden their horizons and provoke their creative thinking. At the same time, this cannot be measured by their test results. Also, students may vary in their tendency to learn, learning abilities, and interests in the subject. So, the performance of students in the class is not a real reflection of the teacher's teaching methods and devotion to teaching. For example, students' grades in the same subject, taught by the same teacher, defer from year to year, and from student to student. Teachers can use a variety of teaching methods and technologies, but it is the student who plays the vital role in his achievement in the class.

Moreover, appraising the students' performance in the class as a holistic measure to the teacher's salary may corrupt the educational process. For instance, some teachers may be persuaded to boost the students' achievements by giving them easy tests or by giving them grades which they do not deserve. Thus, it is deleterious to subject the teaching profession to the influence of money, it is a novel profession, which plays a crucial role in shaping the future of the generations and greatness of the nation.

On the other hand, teachers should have a good quality of life to be efficient and more productive. Accordingly, this will escalate the academic performance of the students and enhance their learning experience. In contrast, if the teachers' income is limited, the teachers will be lax and would think of teaching as a transitory job yet forced to rethink their career, which will have a detrimental effect on the students and will deteriorate the educational system. In view of this, teachers should not struggle financially so they can focus on their critical work in the classroom. So, many countries, such as Finland, Japan, and Germany, tend to increase teachers' salaries to promote their performance and spark their creativity in teaching which has a positive effect on the quality of teaching there.

In conclusion, the teaching profession is critical and vital in the community. The quality of teaching can be enhanced by providing decent salaries to teachers and comfortable work environment, which will spark their enthusiasm and hard work.