Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

For as long as human beings have developed various technologies, they have looked at them with suspicion. The demonization of the tools that we use is perhaps as old as the tools themselves. But those suspicions victimize human beings, and deemphasize their ability to choose. Technology can neither simplify nor complicate a person's life. It is the individuals choices about how and whether to use it that can have such an impact.

The early man probably looked at the spear he used to hunt with suspicion, fully aware that the same tool that feeds him may lead him to kill a fellow human being or be killed. If he used it to feed himself, the spear would simplify his life. He would no longer have to hunt with his bare hands. It would also allow him to catch more delicious meals, introducing wild dear to the menu. But if he were to decide turn his spear around to his enemy. The spear would complicate his life, introducing violence to the equation of life.

Similarly, we question today whether all the technological advances that have followed that spear contribute to our wellbeing, although the bulk of use would never really dare to live our lives without them. We use technology for food, shelter, transportation, communication, and work. Yet, we complain about the stress that it causes us. We chose to live a sedentary life in front of the TV and blame the TV for the heart disease we later discover instead of blaming ourselves for chosing to be lazy. The internet may be used for cyber-bullying, pornogrophy, and streams of self-promotion on social media. Or it may be used to learn how to relax, meditate, and listen to classical music.

To be fair, this argument is heavily based on the assumption that human beings are free acting individuals and that the decisions that they make are purely their own. Yet, we live in societies of people and are highly influenced by the decision of the people that live around us. What do we do when those people have collectively chosen to choose technology to stress themselves out, live in constant loneliness and depression, compete to develop the nuclear technologies that can destroy the world? Well we resist it. As individuals, whether for the sake of humanity, religion, our families, ourselves, or anything that motivates us. This has always been life's main puzzle and no technological advancement has changed this reality.

It is true, technology simply makes the wrong decisions too convenient. But in this stream of self-victimization, we like to forget that it makes the right decisions equally convenient as well. Technology was never there to replace an active mind, it exists to supplement it, make it more efficient, and amplify its ability to do what it deems best.