Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

In the past few decades, technology has continued to proliferate and improve at a rapid pace, perfectly exemplified by Moore's law of technological innovation. Though at times, perfunctory innovation of technology can make aspects of our life more complicated, the improvement of technology in general has simplified and benefited us greatly.

Contrary to popular perception, the advent of technology began many centuries ago. Technology is commonly defined as the application of science for practical purposes. From the invention of the wheel, to even the rise of industries and agriculture, technology in a broad sense, has improved the lives of millions. With the advent of the assembly line, and other automated technologies in factories, mines and other sectors, we were able to greatly decrease the amount of work which previously placed humans at great risk. On a larger scale, the creation of automated processes and mechanical robots increased the efficiency of industries several fold making essential goods affordable and ubiquitious. The impact of technology in improving quality of life, and the economy of nations can not be understated.

Today, not only does technology allow us to automate tasks that humans could do, but it also allows us to create novel solutions and perform tasks that could previously never have been done. The medical industry in particular has greatly benefited from this. Health conditions that could previously never be treated are being cured and controlled with the help of new technology. Patients who suffer from weak heart conditions can now use minute, artificial heart pumps that for the most part, allows them to carry on with their daily activities, where as previously, would be bed bound for the rest of their lives. People suffering from insulin regulation problems, can now monitor their insulin wherever they arre and make necessary remedies to their diet. It is clear that technology not only helps us on the broader scale of economy, but can also make a huge difference an individuals life.

As technology continues to improve, some may argue that technology continues to grow more complex, causing the utilization of it to be burdensome. Though this may be true at times, the value that we are able to gain through the use of this technology severely ouweighs the minor burdens caused by these technolgies in even these few cases. A popular victim of this criticism is the smartphone. Though it is true that the smartphone continues to grow increasingly complex, the value added by these incremental improvements is immense. Moreover, with further improvements, simplicity will surely follow functionality.

In conclusion, technology can be singled out one of the most crucial factors of the betterment of the human existence. The better quality of life, lower mortality rate, and almost every other statistic we use to measure the success of the human existence can be associated with technology. To say that some minor cases in which technology is tiresome, is cause to label the whole field as complicated to use, would be to severely undermine technologies enormous benefits.