There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Whether society should devote resources to saving endangered animals or plant species is not only related to the lives of species, but also to the environmental problems of the rest the world. Therefore, from my point of view, it is necessary for people to prevent endangered animals and plant species from extinction.

First of all, nature doesn’t belong only to humans; it belongs to other species too. Throughout history, large data showed that human activities – overhunting, overfishing directly caused the decreasing animal population. When it comes to justification, people should not have the right to hurt those species in the first place; thereby the society should fulfill their obligations of saving those species in case exacerbating the situation. Imposing severe punishments on illegal hunting and overfishing can reduce such violations and help people to protect endangered species. Also, if people do not take an appropriate move to prevent the extinction of those species, the costs of rescuing them later will be much higher. As a result, it is a responsibility for the society to save endangered species even though it will be an enormous cost in money and jobs.

Indeed, human and any other sort of species are interconnected in the ecosystem: animals provide food and living recourses for humans, humans engage in maintaining the ecosystem. With the decrease of certain animal and plant populations, the ecosystem would become imbalanced – losing one species will gradually lower species variety. If the society ignores those species in the mire, humans’ life will also be threatened. For instance, decreased forest covering rate will cause mudslides, CO2 increasing, and species habitat scarcity. Without ample habitats, species population will become endangered. Consequently, ignoring endangered species will lead the ecosystem to an irreversible situation.

However, some people might think that it is risky to save endangered species since people cannot guarantee their safety in the future, so it is reasonable to give up them. While with the interconnected ecosystem, any species extinction will somewhat affect the whole ecosystem. As a result, the society should figure out a way, predicting the potential threats in nature, eliminating the danger in case it imperils more species. Especially significant are those endangered animals, which have a higher value for scientific research because of its irreplaceability. So, it is imperative for people to save those endangered species for the ecosystem balance and further scientific exploration.

In conclusion, saving endangered species is reasonable because no single species can exist solitary in the ecosystem. Those endangered animals and plant species serve a significant role in human life, the effort of saving them is also the way to protect humans’ living environment.