Too much emphasis has been placed on the need for students to challenge the assertions of others. In fact, the ability to compromise and work with others-that is, the ability to achieve social harmony-should be a major goal in every school.

Challenging a dogma is a good habit only if it is provincial and incomprehensible. However, teaching students to challenge every assertions of others is not a good skill. Students should be taught that to achieve big one has to work hard and at the same time work in team. Students should be taught the benefits of group studies and cooperative learning.

Being social is a life skill that everybody should have. As we learn to live among our peers, family and society it becomes an utmost necessity for everyone to be able to be in harmony with other members in the society. Similarly, it is very important for students to learn to work together with each others. If we can harness their energies and abilities towards cooperative learning then we are teaching them a life skill that will be very handy for them in any aspects of their life. Students then will learn to accept their own flaws and also accept somebody else’s abilities. These helps each students to be more kind and earthy. As students grow up to be adults these students can create a better community with less overweening competitions, also lessen the criminal cases that arises due to habitual loathing of other’s progress.

In addition to this, learning to cooperate and communicate in order to maintain harmony among all is as important in school as in other parts of life. This skill is tested most at workplace when a gregarious colleague is more favored than a presumptuous colleague. Also when we want to achieve something big like innovate ideas, run businesses we need a team to work accordingly in our vision. A team of enthusiastic people helps in achieving many goals than single person. Hence, it is very important if we learn to work in a team from the early age.

When students from a very early stage are made to challenge each others this will create a sense of competition among all. Students might develop a habit of refuting anyone’s suggestions. It will be difficult for student who are intransigent to learn and accept anything new or important. For instance, a student might stick to his answer in spite of the mistakes he has made just cause he is unwilling to accept the solution his friend presents. Simultaneously, effect his grades as well.

However, it is not always bad to object on others opinions. If students learn too compromise a lot this will effect their future as they will be more penchant towards compromising their interests as well. Students may not be able to confidently present their solutions and ideas which might be best of all. Students may come into pressure from their siblings or parents or teachers or peers to join classes or careers that they don’t enjoy. Hence, it is also important for students to learn ability to state a firm resolution of their beliefs.

As it is not suggestible to compromise one’s needs and beliefs, it is as important to know when to work in harmony. Thus, schools should guide students to firmly address their ideas and at the same time learn to accept and work together with other’s.