The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address th

Ìt is not completely true that every art needs to be understood by masses to prove itself great. But its rather how all feels while seeing that particular art. If we consider Pablo Picasso painting we can't comprehend how or from where he had drawn the paintings but while seeing the complex mixture of paints been used on the board it feels something great. Even when we consider Eminem,the rap singer who is famous for rapping can't be understood by a lot of masses but it's being continously heared by them. It's not because masses don't like but all of them feel burning passion filled with energy while hearing. So I completely disagree, as every art need not be understood for its greatness.

For judging greatness of an art we can't consider the opinions of masses but by persons who are well-known in that particular field of art.

Lets consider another famous pop singer and excellent dancer with his unique postures, Michael Jackson

The great Michael Jackson who considered as the God of pop music and dance form was severely criticized by the public as well as the critics of his time for making music which they considered nothing but the cacophony from the musical instruments achieved immeasurable heights through his self invented lyrics, music and dance that was greatly appreciated by the musicians of his time and ultimately reached to hearts of youth which made him a youth icon.

Considering the above examples I strongly disagree with authors point of view towards the true test of any work of art as being able to be understood by masses. On the contrary it the artists who understand and appreciate the art.