The true test of the greatness of a work of art is its ability to be understood by the masses.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author's claim or conclusion is a derivative of black and white thinking . If the art is understood by the masses it is great, else it is not.We must consider the fact that supporting or debunking this claim relies heavily on how we define 'greatness of art'.

Do we define an art to be great by it's monetary value? Then indeed some of the modern art should be considered great. It is quite common news to see paintings of Modern Art being sold for millions of dollars ! Now, Modern Art is only savored by connosieurs of art. To the art layman it just appears to be some random strokes of the brush. Considering this definition of greatness proves the argument to be false.

On the other hand, let's say we define greatness as ubiquity among people . The coveted art - 'Mona Lisa' and it's creator 'Picasso' are common household names now. They have, are and would never be forgotten in the future. Can we say that the masses have 'understood' the painting? For most people it is nothing but a picture of woman. It would most probably have had a deeper meaning to it as the artist would have perceived it. Yet by our definition it could be considered a 'great piece of art'. This once again contradicts the argument.

Contrary to the examples so far, let's say I created a work of art - a painting perhaps. Would it be considered a great piece of art if my friends and family don't understand it? Probably not. So, yes the claim is justified in this case.

Should we not consider the unique style and flair of the artist? Not all works of art are to appeal to one sect of the audience. One may choose who his target audience is.

Ultimately ,it is evident that such claims may seem reasonable, but after some thought, we can see that it is a claim rife with many loopholes.

Looked at from different points of view, the argument fails to hold in every case.