The editor of a local newspaper sent the following memo to the managing editor of the paper:

“Three years ago when we surveyed our subscribers, they complained about the quality of the reporting and writing in the paper. Since that time, we have made a concerted effort to hire older, more experienced journalists. According to our most recent survey, these changes have made a vast improvement. Not only has our subscriber base grown by 13%, but they also rated us higher on both reporting and writing. Therefore, it is evident that to continue to increase our readership, we should hire the most experienced journalists we can find, and gradually fire our younger, less experienced reporters."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Though the recommendation that hiring older, more experienced journalists and firing the younger less experienced reporters could lead to an increase in the quality of both writing and reporting, there are some questions that need to be answered and evaluated before this claim verified. This claim relies on the grounds that correlation implies causation and thus it needs to be scrutinized thoroughly for evaluation.

Firstly, the quality of the survey is in question. The quality of a survey is decided on the target audience and the form of the questions.

Who were the target audience of the survey? Did they represent a normalized reader base? Or it was just a sect of the subscribers? If, indeed the surveyed sample could represent the entire subscriber base then the survey could be deemed useful.

We also have to consider how the questions of the survey were framed.Were they asking for complaints or comments in general? Or was it a general survey asking questions? People when given the chance for comments or feedback tend to write negative points about the item in question, either with a tone of constructive criticism, or with a tone of contempt/ridicule.This phenomenon can be attributed to the fact that people only mention what they want changed and not what they are happy with. A survey with a general questionnare would be apt instead.

The same questions mentioned above could be asked for the second survey which showed an increase in rating questioning the validity of the survey on both the premises of audience and quality of questions.

Second , How different was the market back then and now? A major rival present back then and absent now? If this were to be the case then the increase in subscriber base cannot be attributed to the increase in quality of work.

Third.We should also consider the general trends of the times three years apart. What was the percentage of people consuming newspapers then? How about now ? Has there been an increase of consumption? An increase in consumption of newspapers by the general public invalidates the claim that the quality of work has improved.

Before anything can be concluded about younger journalists not performing on par with senior ones, one has to judge the quality of works of both the parties by comparing one with another to validate/invalidate the claim.

Even though a few numbers from a survey might seem compelling enough to conclude the claim that indeed the young journalists should be replaced by senior ones, a plethora of questions need to be answered prior before any conclusion can be made and definitely before any action be taken.