Should the entire nation have a single uniform curriculum before (university)college? Express your views, arguments based on the consequences if there were/were not to be a single curriculum .

The rationale behind the claim that all the students of a nation should study the same national curriculum till college comes from the fact that it would be easier to teach them at the college level as everyone would be on the same page. There would be clarity among teacher and curriculum designers alike on what topics to lay more emphasis on , to skim over based on the strengths and weaknesses of the curriculum tought prior and the depth to which certain topics were covered etc. Though this argument seems convincing , it has its own flaws and consequences.

Imagine now if we did indeed have one curriculum for the entire nation. What would the consequences be?

No diversity at all in the student pool. Everyone would be equipped with the same skill set , gainsaying the possibilty of exchange of ideas , which would be possible and happening if we did have diversity in the curriculum consequently diversity in the student pool. A set of students with a skill set A would embrace and exchange ideas with another set of students with a skill set B. This would promote further growth and nurture young minds.

We have to also consider the fact that educating their ward in some particulur curriculums would be an expensive proposition that many families would not want to incur. They would rather choose one that is within their scope of affordability . On the other hand, even if the curriculum were affordable by the parents , wouldn't they want a choice in what they would like their children to study ? Based on their needs and interests they would like to pick a curriculum that would be apt for their child.

Also, some immediate consequences of implementing a one curriculum policy would be the dearth of teachers and educators. The demand would be skyrocket for teachers with a particular skill set , the supply unable to cope up. This would lead to a reduction in the quality of education recieved in many places , as schools would be ready to settle and bring down their standards to meet the demands. Yes, this phenomenon would phase out, but the transition would take a couple of years.

Finally , if this policy were actually to be implemented it would be a herculean task to say the least. Designing a curriculum catering to the needs and interests of a wide variety of student population catering to both provincial interests and common ones alike would require the best of minds - academicians and politicians to notch up their game and huddle up and work on the task.