Until now, the distinctive patterned baskets were thought to exist only in Palea. Recently, archaeologists found a Palean basket in the city of Lithos. Now, there exists Brim river between these two cities. No evidence of boats till now and the river being deep and broad, the archaeologists have concluded that the baskets were indeed not unique to Palea.

Express your views on the author's argument and conclusions by discussing its flaws and/or merits.

Though it could be possible that the Palean baskets were indeed not uniquely Palean , the link between the absence of Palean Boats and the non-uniqueness of the Palean woven baskets is not cogent. The arguement is rife with assumptions and holes that need to be accounted for and countered before anything can be concluded.

One has to consider the fact that geographical phenomenon and factors can account for changes in the environment. This puts a big question mark on the existance of the river itself. What if the river was a product of recent geographical phenomenon? Thus gainsaying the possibility of its existance in the prehistoric time of the villages. Based on this arguement if we assume that the Brim river did not exist in the past , there would have been no demarcation between the cities with a water body. Thus , the baskets could very well be carried to Lithos for trading or other purposes thus justifying their uniqueness and existance in other places at the same time.

If we deny our previous possibility of the absence of the river, what gainsays the fact that a bridge between two cities could have existed? This would facilitate movement of goods between Palea and Lithos , thus countering the non uniqueness arguement. Furthermore , based on the same premise of changing geographical conditions could the river not have changed in depth or breadth? Going from shallow in the past to broad and deep in the recent times?

Ok, let's consider the fact that the rivers were indeed deep and needed boats to cross. No evidence of boats found till now does not mean that they were actually no boats being used then. Could evidence for boats be found in the future ? Highly likely.

The author of the arguement states that archaeologists discovered 'one' such Palean basket. This does not justify the existance of such baskets in Lithos. What if the one basket found was one of the few baskets carried over to the other side by the river? This evidence is not compelling enough to state that such baskets did exist in Lithos.

Now keeping in mind all the above possible loopholes to the author's arguement we have to consider one assumption that the entire arguement is based upon. Till now , such baskets were only found in Palea , note the word 'till now'. There is a possibility that these baskets were indeed not unique and found in many other places.

Considering the author's arguement however ,nothing can be concluded as further evidence and knowledge is required to combat some of the counter-arguements which would need to be accounted for the claim to make sense.