A true university education encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline. Only through exploring the broad spectrum of liberal arts courses can students become truly learned.

Man possesses the capability to learn far more in his initial 20 to 25 years of life, which is proved to be the most important to him in the years to come. Schools molds a person, but universities are the real one that gives man the final finishing touch. Therefore, a true university curriculum should comprise of a broad spectrum which includes major subjects, mandatory basic level subjects, languages, extra-curricular activities and value added courses which helps the student be molded into a society conscious citizen who is worldly wised and with the knowledge of the particular field can help in the value addition of the society.

A wide range of subject makes an individual cognizant about the basic ideas necessary to adjust in the world which may include a basic level knowledge of science, math, art, psychology, philosophy, history, etc. The knowledge of different fields makes an individual quite comfortable in the society and being worldly wised. The university curriculum plays quite a crucial role in shaping an individual, making one ready to face the real world when one steps outside the college life, where one isn't in a safe and protected environment. For making the university students strong, confident and ready to take up the challenges they face once they step outside the university walls, they need to be imparted knowledge that covers academics, both the field they are specializing in along with subjects that require certain basic level of knowledge, extra-curricular activities and ethical values which would make them better citizens.

Some people think that the involvement of non-major subjects in the curriculum is just a waste of time and doesn't impart any knowledge or is of no worth in the future. This may be the lucky few who are quite clear about their goals in life and just want to stay focused in their field. But there are many students who haven't made a clear decision about what they want to be professionally. The involvement of various subjects may create a sense of feeling that one of the subjects is what they would be highly interested in and look up to take up major course in that particular field in the near future.

With a narrow specialized study of a single discipline one may be like a frog in the well, who is quite aware about everything in the well but falters when the frog leaves the well to venture new areas. One should not be any case restricted to a single field. Man is considered to be a multifaceted who is capable of being an expert in a wide scope of areas. Man is no one purpose specific device that it fails to perform any other activity that is asked to perform. Humans are always apt to be experts in a wide array of subjects and university is the correct place where they can be made aware about this wonderful ability they possess. Therefore, universities should adopt a curriculum that encompasses far more than the narrow, specialized study of a single discipline by exploring the broad spectrum of various other courses that the students are capable of learning.