The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The opinion of a single parent is promulgated in the argument stating that the so called tasteless and insipid food served at the new cafeteria is not preferred by the kids, and requires the immediate attention of the school board, unless they desire to face serious health consequences for the students at Kensington. Well, the argument is based on some assumed notions by the parents and in the light of some evidence fails to justify the shift to anther vendor.

Firstly, children eat only one meal at school, and if the school authority has taken steps to change the management over the cafeteria, there must be various considerable factors for the whole proposal. Kensington Academy had a health check-up last year, which accounted to more than 50% students overweight. Hence, the school authority considered a shift of the food served at the cafeteria, that could at least decrease the calorie and fat intake in one meal of the day, as the school has no control over the other meals the children have. Additionally, the school board is considering to increase the time devoted to sport activities to keep the children more active, and help them not to be obese in their adult life.

Secondly, student's health concern is not entirely the issue of the School, parents need to take proactive attention in the matter of health and food intake of their kids as well. The board is of the opinion that the parents need to be supportive to this change as they need to understand the intent behind the change. Additionally, they should make the teens aware about a healthy lifestyle starting from a young age. The students need to health conscious right from a very early age. Their consciousness at a right age may help them carry forward that attitude for the years to come. School lunch committee is also thinking of developing a new rule that would forbid any lunch other than the cafeteria, to inculcate a disciplined healthy environment in the school campus.

Finally, reports of many students getting more fit this year have been reported. Many parents and teachers are of the opinion that this could have been possible only because of the change in the food served at the cafeteria, as they have cut down a can of soda, fried chips, etc. that unnecessarily made them less active and added to the unnecessary fat.

Replacing the present vendor with a new one is an easy solution that could placate the kids, but putting their health at stake. As responsible parents and guardians, it’s our duty to act in wellbeing of the kids and help them realize the importance of health. Initiative by parents, teachers and school food committee can help the teens deal with the situation in a stronger way instead of giving in to the unhealthy food, only for a healthy future.