All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Generally, multinational companies hire consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. It is of the belief that if the same companies were to spend more time, instead of more money, listening to their own employees, the consultants would be unnecessary. But, it fails to identify the true need a consultant, who gathers years of expertise in the particular field. The consultants are the best at their job and their only job is to come with a solution which is for sure suppose to give results. The solutions provided by these consultants are based on years of research work and real world examples that the common employees might not even be aware about. The employees of the firm are not inherited naturally and it is unlikely for them to come to a decision unanimously to increase the efficiency of the firm even if they are know the firm they are working with entirely.

Consultants are well versed with specific ways of dealing with problems and are henceforth, rewarded for the unique solutions they come up with that is uniquely faced by the company. They provide with an unbiased opinion to the board and the final decision stands in the hands of the board members whether to implement the same or not. Consultants have an all new and different way to approach a problem. Moreover, they provided an outside opinion which is more often than not biased, based on clear cut facts and figures. Hiring consultants can in a way help save time, where in the employees can focus on other important tasks.

Some people might think that hiring consultants is unnecessary. They are definitely true, when they may be small cost-effective terms who do not have high profits, and hence cannot afford consultants. Smaller firms can also have an innovative team set up that would any day be cheaper from the consultants to work on the issue of operating efficiently.In such situations, if the companies spend more time listening to their own employees it can act in the companies' advantage mainly because in smaller firms the employees are well informed about all the different departments and the mutual co-existence between the departments. Hence, helping to save money and increasing the operating efficiency of the firm.

In the end, there are many factors that needs to be dealt with to justify the hiring of consultants, which is the sizeof the firm and the employees awareness about the co-existence of different departments. Both the ways can be beneficial in different situations.