Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Military in the United States of America has the highest investment compared to any other sector. Well, it is quite justifiable as the country has a long coastline, population of millions and a large landmass to protect from any enemy or potential anti-national forces. Thousands of teens covet to be an esteemed officer serving for the military of the nation, as they are in a way protecting their own country from any anti- nation forces. Additionally, with the increase of terror in this century and constant threat from terrorists forces putting millions of lives in jeopardy, certainly justifies the huge amount of investment made in the military sector of the country.

On the contrary, arts is not a sector that justifiably requires such an enormous amount of investment as not so much of human capital is required in this field and moreover, it is not applicable to each and every citizen of the country. Government can rightly impart a huge percentage of taxes paid by every citizen of the country to the maintenance of the military department, but it would not be right on the part of the citizens if the same percentage of their taxes paid went to develop arts or maintain the existing arts.

Art is not considered important by most of the citizens of the nation, and by the decision makers in the government mainly because it is quite neglected as compared to any other sector. People do not realize that the art needs to be preserved and does require a lot of finance so that the future generation can be inspired by the art work and help them achieve new horizons in the field of art. Many fail to realize that the artifacts that are preserved in the public museum as well as the private ones, needs to be safeguarded and certainly requires a lot of money. Moreover, tourism industry of the country is mainly based on many of the art works. So it definitely justifiable, that a part of the investment by the government needs to be in the field of art, as it has been contributing equally in the economy of the country.

Art work needs to be preserved and also new art needs to be nurtured. The United States has always been the fore bearer in any industry. Additionally, it has been the home of renowned artists for centuries together. In order for the art to be preserved and fostering the younger generation to tread the same path of the great artists be it in the field of literature, painting, or any other genre of art, the government needs to play a vital role in fostering the art industry, helping to include various art schools and making it mandatory to pursue art as a subject at school-level in order to pursue the teens to take up art as a career. Well, it is not expected from the government that they increase the investment in the field of art to as high as the military sector, because by doing so the investment in some other sector would be compromised. In fact, they should increase the investment in arts to a higher level, where neither other sectors suffer nor the artifacts no longer cease to exist, helping the people's interest to be regained.