In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Unemployment is the major concern of the city council and would be served but what if Autotech exploits the resources of the town and has more deleterious impacts on the people of the town and the environment in the surrounding areas? This could totally go against what is foreseen as a solution to the unemployment problem. The city council needs to ensure that the automobile plant would have no adverse effect on the flora and fauna of the adjacent areas of the city, additionally would not exploit the resources of the city to such a greater extent that it causes any irreversible damage to the city and its dwellers.

A possible reason for the abandonment of Computech computers is that the company is on a hiatus and wishes to return as soon as the company starts earning greater profits. So in such a scenario the city must plan accordingly by providing temporary employment to the citizens, which may include settings up computer related classes or could help attract a company that would set up a call centre in their area or any other software or computer related company willing to invest in the city for a shorter duration, till Computech gets back. The city council could also force computech to help deal with the situation by setting up a smaller plant in the meanwhile duration.

Proposal of setting up a giant car manufacturing plant in the city, would provide employment opportunities to labours, mechanics and engineers related to the automobile industry. But since Computech computer abandoned the city, most of the people likely to be unemployed would have majored in computer engineering or any other field related to computers. Will these people who once had been qualified to be computer engineers or IT related software engineers comfortable working in a automobile manufacturing plant? Or would they feel they are working below what they capable of working? Most of them would even hesitate to apply for such a job, leave aside working for the automobile company. As a result, the town council must make efforts to attract a computer based company, as it is likely to be more interested to open an office in the city due to the surfeit of unemployed computer engineers with enough computer related experience and willing to work for them.

In fact, the City Council should organize a trade fair, where it attracts companies of different spheres of industry willing to open up a plant in the city. The council would by doing so, would provide employment to set up the fair and additionally attract a lot of potential companies willing to set up plants in the City. This would help the city in terms of employment and also avoid the unnecessary huge tax incentive they need to offer to the giant auto manufacturing company, as they would have an array of significant companies willing to invest in the City.

Well, if the city council fails to take any necessary steps to deal with the unemployment issue, then the city may face the problem of emigration, where the city dwellers would be forced to move out of the city in search of jobs that is of their interest and matches with their work profile. City council needs to be conducive to the needs and demands of the citizens before any adverse situation takes its way.

Ultimately, the City Council need not be parochial about their approach while dealing with the unemployment issue of the city. They need to come up with varied ideas and proposals that guarantees a great future for the denizens of the city. Additionally, grant permission to plants such that it solves the problem of the unemployment and doesn't prove to be costly to the government, in terms of significant tax incentives.