"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing & supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Several sports stars and movie stars are highly revered by their fans, some of them viewing them as role models. Once they opt to choose either acting or sports as their careers, they no longer are just an ordinary individual, but are highly exposed to the public for every little deed they do, in a way becoming a celebrity. But it is not their duty to behave as role models for the younger generation who look up to them, in return for the millions of dollars they are paid.

The sports stars and the movie stars are paid because they work hard in their respective fields, quite similar to the tuition fees paid to the teacher or the consulting charges paid to the doctor. The teacher is not obliged to help the students make wise decisions for their career or the doctor is not obliged to placate the patient, when he/she comes to know that he/she is suffering through a life threatening disease, say cancer. On the contrary, both the doctor and the teacher go beyond what their job responsibilities and care for the people associated with them who they love and care about. Similarly, the sports and movie stars, though unlike the teacher and the doctor may not be in direct association with the people they affect, are not obliged to care for the fans but they do go beyond what is asked from their professional careers to make a positive impression on the fans who lionize them.

Especially in the case of sports stars, they no longer represent themselves at Olympics, or any other international level. They represent an entire country. Every single person of the country is abused when a sportsmen from their country is criticized for any wrong deed done by him/her. Take the case of Rio Olympics, 2016, preliminarily all the Russian players were prohibited from participating for the Olympics, mainly because a lot of participants for Russia failed the doping test. As a result, the whole nation was forced to face the consequences. Therefore, the sports players and even the movie stars need to make ethical decisions and act in sensible manner because their actions are going to be scrutinized and speculated by people around the globe. Moreover, there one wrong decision can cast a negative impression on the young minds who are stilling learning the differences between right and wrong, and are trying to adjust to the society.

One may put in a subtle manner that it their obligation for all the love they receive from their fans to make this world a better place to live in, by settling good examples. People always admire those who tread the right path, rather than one who use wrong and shorter path to reach their goal. Movie stars, for particular have a huge role in representing to the youth, through their movies values that will be ingrained with them for life. Sports stars and movie stars are not obliged to be better people, actually no one can force one to be good, unless one truly wants to be so. Many celebrities are associated with many environmental related issues- save the planet, go green, use less water and health related issues- AIDS, Cancer. Celebrities do so because they know that they have a great influence on the youth and help them, in a way giving back what they get, all the love their fans shower on them which means more to them then the money they make.