"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical to our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In an effort to broaden the supporter base, Folk on the Air program allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music which was faced by criticism in the form of written complaints from many long-term supporters and a critical editorial in the local newspaper. The program based on the assumption, that most of its followers have a negative opinion about their shift from more Americanized music to non-Americanized music, have reached to an easy conclusion that in order to avoid any further public adversity, the program should discontinue the current emphasis on Latino and world music and switch back to the original level without considering various important parameters that are quite critical in deciding the shift.

Firstly, the shift from American folk to Latino and world folk music must have been made on some concrete evidence that considers the public demands. It may be so that people are more interested in world folk music and are hence not able to follow Folk on Air program since it broadcasts only Americanized music. Consequentially, the broadcasters may have thought of incorporating Latino and world folk music on the program. This may have helped them to attract huge new supporters. Henceforth, a survey should be made among all the supporters whether they are completely against or in support of the shift. It is quite likely that the long-term supporters are against the more emphasis on world folk music and may want it to be restricted to an hour or two, instead the conclusion stands on entirely scrapping out the world folk music and switching back to the original level. It is quite plausible that the supporters might want to listen to Americanized music in the peak hours and may prefer other music at different times. A comprehensive research work needs to be made in this area before coming to a final solution.

Next, the critical editorial in the local newspaper could be the opinion of a single person or just a small group. The program broadcasters should get in touch with the local newspaper and extract information regarding the views of various people about that article. It may be so that most of the supporters of the program may be in favor of the shift and they are not the ones coming out. And only the few are critically condemning the change. Evidently, a little more research work on the part of the program broadcasters is quite crucial to come to any conclusion as the program could lose the new customers at the cost of the long-term supporters. It is so because it is quite a huge step to totally go back to original level instead of making a few alterations could help to solve the issue in hand. Hopefully, the broadcasters are able to reach a conclusion that profits both the supporters and the program Folk on Air.