Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this era of information, new data and everyday happenings are expanding the sphere of information to infinite. Hence, making it difficult for a common man to be cognizant about everything happening in the surrounding. Prior to the advent of technology and internet, a person was satisfied with the knowledge of what happens in his/her own country and the place he/she resides. But with the ever increasing curiosity of man to be updated by every little occurrence in the surrounding and the deep down rooted desire to be aware about each and every little happening in the world has been made possible with the invention of internet. Though, it is quite difficult or one may say outside the capacity of a person to retain or in some cases browse through all the facts and new information that is added every single day. Therefore, making us choose what to read and what to shun away from. Making humans best at a screening process- choosing what interests us, or what is important to us and neglecting the rest.

Internet has made our lives so easy and learning anything is no more an arduous task. Say, a person wants to learn guitar, or an another language, it has become so easy and possible. Additionally, people do not need to remember every little piece of information, "google" it, and one has it in a jiffy. Internet has made multitasking an easy phenomenon for humans. Moreover, it has helped humans to be adaptive to an entire different topic in a flick of seconds. for example, a person may be watching a documentary on war, and the nest moment doing yoga with the help of a video online.

People are no longer fixated in a particular field. They have realized the delicate intricacies of various different fields on each other. With the help of internet and mass media, people across the globe can work on a single project that requires the expertise of different fields. The advent of internet has been a boon to the humans, but never forget the side effects it has on the society.

Youth are the most vulnerable to use of internet. At a tender age, they have no control on themselves, and are not certain when to restrict the use, before it gets addictive. various deleterious effects could include avoiding regular study time, addiction to video games, lack of physical exercise and the basic values that is required to be a part of the community. Excessive use of internet and social sites can make the younger generation secluded from what is the real world, impacting their growth, physically and mentally. In fact, restraining their attention span.

As a result, youth often need the proper guidance from their parents and adults, as they need to be great role models ensuring great mental control over the excessive and harmful use of internet and technology. Internet, is a blessing to everyone and hence should be used in the best way possible, making us more cognizant about our surroundings and not indeed crutches to it.