The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Any democracy requires the consensus of the majority of the citizens of the country. In order to achieve a unanimous decision for the well fare of the nation, a true leader requires to work along with its team, being considerate about their views and ideas of the members, and not competing with them or trying to establish one's hegemony. The leader needs to portray an array of skills that makes him/ her the best candidate for the job. Henceforth, certain values and beliefs need to instil from a very young age to prepare the person to be great responsible leader in the future.

To be a great leader, one needs the cooperation of her team, she cannot tread the path alone. If the leader is working alone, without the cooperation of the team, well she won't be called a leader in the first place because she is not leading anyone and secondly, she is alone mainly because the ideas of the team doesn't match with that of her own ideas, as she is constantly trying to true herself to be superior then the rest and working for personal motives. To be a true leader, one needs to leave aside one's own personal goals to a secondary level, giving the goal of the team or the nation she is leading her priority.

Cooperation is a skill one needs in every domain of one's life. For example, organizing an event requires the help and working together of an entire team to set up a grant event. Such a skill may not be developed in a person overnight. Consequently, these skills that make a good leader needs to develop from a very young age, by organizing various events and competitions at school level.

Well, now the issue arises does a competitive spirit hinder the significance of cooperation in a person? How does a person stand out from the crowd? How would be establish himself as the best, without the competitive spirit? If he tries to be cooperative to the needs and demands of others and let his friend win, just because he is being cooperative, and setting his competitive spirit at stake. This obviously not the right thing to do. Hence, one needs to be competitive while participating in events and competition, but one needs to be cognizant when the competitive spirit starts to take oevr other situations, where competition isn’t required, but requires the working together to achieve the same goal. These values need to rightly instilled in the younger generation at the right age by their parents and teachers.

In a nutshell, cooperation is the most important skill required in a leader that needs to be inculcated at a very early age to shape future leaders. Additionally, developing competitive spirit so that they bring out the best in them and showcase it to the world. But the guardians also put a check on their competitive spirit that it doesn't interfere with their team spirit. Kids with their impressionable minds can grasp the right knowledge in the best manner and turn out to be great leaders for a brighter future.