A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

A study had been conducted among the children living in the Himalayan region in Nepal and the children living in the suburban areas in the United States. The results of the research concluded that the children living in Nepal had lower levels of tooth decay than the kids of the US, despite the fact that the children in Nepal received little to no professional dental care compared to the the people in the US visited a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Conclusion drawn from the above argument states that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay, based on a few logical fallacies or assumptions that could be easily weakened.

Firstly, the argument fails to consider the impact of location having an effect on the tooth problems. It is quite likely, that the people of Nepal, because of the dearth of resources are more inclined to used therapeutic herbs or sticks of Neem tree to clean their teeth on a regular bases. However, people in the United States use toothpaste which is made up of chemicals such as fluorine and chlorine compounds, that could possibly have a deleterious impact on the health of the teeth.

Secondly, the eating habits of the two groups differ to a very great extent. The kids of Nepal would hardly be eating chocolates, candies and other sweet products that have been proven to have a negative impact on the teeth at a very young age, which explains why the kids have less tooth decay despite receiving little to no professional dental care.

Thirdly, the descendants of the kids of the suburbans of the United states are heterogeneous. Many of the parents of the kids might have had the tooth decay problem at a very young age, and might have passed down the trait to their kids. While on the contrary, it is possible to a great extent that the genes passed to the Nepali kids are less susceptible to tooth decay at an early age, resolving the paradox in the argument.

Finally, the regular visits to the dentist could prove to be advantageous at a later span in life. Moreover, people who regularly visit the dentists have more chances of having all their teeth intact to a much later age compared to those who pay no visit to the dentist at all. Plausibly, the kids of Nepal may have tooth decay at a high rate in the adults, justifying the lack of dental care at the right time. The argument assumes that the kids of Nepal do not have tooth decay problems, hence they certainly would never have such a problem in their adult life.

As a result,the conclusion of the argument is drawn based on dearth of evidence that could strengthen the main argument. But their are also many possible reasons that could evidently weaken the conclusion made by the author of the argument. Moreover, a single survey certainly cannot help to draw the conclusion of a huge area comprising of varied people, where each person differs from the rest to a great extent, based on different implicit factors.