Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more influence on children's behavior.

People are of the opinion that movies having high level of violence can cause increasing violence in the society, especially among the children, but they fail to realize that most of the movies that involves even a modicum of violent scenes would be restricted by the censor boards and would demand adult supervision while the kids watch the movies. Hence, it is baseless to claim that the increasing media has a detrimental effect on the children.

Well, some might still wish to argue that the increasing violence in the media has a grave impact on the society, but again they are blocked by the idea that the violence in the media is portrayed with a sense of purpose that they wish the audience can grasp. Moreover, after reaching a certain age people are able to demarcate what is actually good for them to sustain in the society and what is not. Along with the violence in the media, a lot of media cover ways to combat inner violence through inner peace and non-violence measures. The moral responsibility of the society is equally responsible for spreading non-violence as is the responsibility of the media that the violent scenes have no negative impact on its audience.

On the contrary, children are at a constant exposure with their parents and relatively a large amount of time with their friends and classmates. Therefore, the parents and the peer group have a large influence on the young minds. The actions, behavior, language and the response to various instances in the kids surroundings have a great effect on impressionable, callow minds, who more often imitate these actions in similar situations as they think this is the way to behave or respond to a particular situation.

Studies show that at a very early age, children learn more by observing rather than listening or what is forcefully being caught to them. They are very much keen observers of the actions of their parents as they are trying to adapt to the new world they are born in. Their parents are their only hope of survival and means of getting adjusted in the new world. Henceforth, parents of young kids have a great responsibility to shape their kids to become responsible and less violent citizens. A bad marriage, too much stress at job or the parent being away from the kid can repress feelings that more often turn into unjustifiable violent actions. Consequently, parents need to nurture a safe environment for their kids filled with love, care and affection that makes their nature calm, satisfied and loving, and not the contrary that is filled with hate, jealousy and violence.

Additionally, the peer group of the children does have an influence on the kids. They inculcate a lot of values like team spirit, love and friendship through indirect ways. The teachers and parents can come to handy in such situations, where they can make the group realize an acceptable behaviour and a harmful one. Ultimately, the parents are the most vital part in the lives of the children and it is singularly their responsibility to help their kids have a brighter, more responsible future. Whereas the teachers, peers and various movies only can be a helping hand.