Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of an action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing that action.

How does one actually define a moral act? An act is generally demarcated by thin line, which makes it either right or wrong. Moral act is the one which is considered absolutely right in every aspect and therefore, legal by law whereas the wrong act, which injures or harms someone else can be termed as an immoral act, performed against the conscience of a person. Well, any action is performed with the final result in mind, and the implication of the results on the person who performs the action. Henceforth, the intentions of the person performing the deed are more important than the amount of good or bad the action generates.

Generally, a moral act is considered correct or incorrect based on the intent of the person doing the act as the ulterior motives of a person drives him/ her to perform the act. Without any gains from the act, no person generally performs a particular act. In short, no good deed is done selflessly or without a motive. Well, proponents of charitable organizations or any benevolent person would surely like to contradict the above statement. But the truth is that when people donate, more often during the festive seasons, they do charity to help the poor or those in need which ends up with a modicum of satisfaction that evokes happiness inside the benevolent, as a result proving that the good charitable deed was not done selflessly or with the intent of leaving the donor satisfied or happy or playing a vital role in helping the society. However, the good deed resulted into more amount of good than bad, to all the people associated with the good deed- the charitable organization, the poor and none the least the person himself, but in no way does that define the act as moral or not. But a good motive surely defines a moral act.

An organization run by the citizens of an entire country, which may have followers of lakhs plans to kill a group of few people working in press who published articles against their religion. The act may possibly have done well to all the followers of the religion, as they might think that killing those few press people was indeed of teaching a good lesson to all the people round the globe. But, the lives of few people at the press was quantitatively lesser compared to the people who ought happiness out of the mass murder. Does this measure of quantitatively defining a moral or immoral act correct? Surely, No. Hence, the judicial system more often makes the decision of punishing any act based on the intention of the doer, rather than the amount of good or bad it generates