If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees,we encourage our residents to late last year our neighbouring town,Hayesworth has seen garbage disposal cost significantly decrease.If we implemented advertisingcampaign encouragingour residents to recycle Masontown would also save moneyon disposal of its waste.-write an argument ont his topic that is sent to editor of a newspaper.

The argument states that if Masontown wishes to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, the citizens of the town needs to recycle more. By doing so, the garbage would compose of only the inorganic or other non-recyclable stuffs. Well, the argument assumes that the garbage consists of a large portion of recyclable stuffs and if the people of the town do recycle the used cans, plastic waste and paper, it would reduce the amount of garbage to quite a great extent and ultimately, reducing the municipal garbage disposal fee.

On the contrary, if the garbage disposed presently consists of only non-recyclable stuff, after being recycled by the denizens of the town, and now, even if the citizens increase recycling no considerable difference is bound to occur on the garbage disposal fee. Henceforth, weakening the assumption which collapses the entire conclusion of the argument. Secondly, considering the fact that the present garbage of the town is not recycled at all before disposing. Even then, the recyclable products are little or next to nil in the entire waste disposal of town, leaving the town with the same high municipal disposal fee.

Next, the argument makes an assumption that a law that was passed in Hayesworth which requires all the households to recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine, eventually reducing the garbage disposal costs significantly would surely work in Masontown as well. The argument fails to mention whether the significant reduction in the fee was due to the increase in the fine fetched from violating the law which ended up generating a large revenue or due the increase in recycling of garbage from all the households. If the significant decrease in the garbage disposal fees was due to the huge revenue collected from all those households that violated the law, then the argument fails to support the conclusion that increasing awareness among residents to recycle more would help to save money on disposal of the town's waste.

An advertising campaign to encourage the residents to recycle would also cost the citizens and such an investment is not bound to produce results if recycling is not an issue that could reduce the overall disposal fees. Various other methods needs to be speculated to deal with the current situation of high disposal fees. The citizens of the town as well as the municipality are equally responsible for coming up with alternate solutions to the stated problem. Simply, imitating the model that functions well in a town which is entirely different in terms of various factors cannot be implemented in Masontown, henceforth, requiring a comprehensive and thorough research before any big leap is taken in the direction of dealing with the problem. Ultimately, spreading awareness, reducing the use of non-recyclable products, growing trees, keeping the environment cleaner could be little steps that could help to solve the problem in small ways as well as protecting the town and its environment.