If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees,we encourage our residents to late last year our neighbouring town,Hayesworth has seen garbage disposal cost significantly decrease.If we implemented advertisingcampaign encouragingour residents to recycle Masontown would also save moneyon disposal of its waste.-write an argument ont his topic that is sent to editor of a newspaper.

The recommendation made by the author is flawed for various reasons. While the intention of the author to save money on disposal of waste is noble, the method of implementing this proposal is not viable, rendering the prediction uncertain.

The author purports that an advertising campaign would be successful in persuading the residents of Masontown to recycle the waste. This claim is unjustified. It cannot be assured that most of the residents would be moved by the advertising campaign. Unless something is enforced on the residents, they often tend to ignore such advertisements. It is very hard to change a hard-wired habit, if the residents have never recycled their wastes, then a simple advertising campaign wouldn't change such a habit.

If the residents have never recycled their waste that means they are simply not concerned about saving the money on disposal. Some of the questions like the income level of Masontown, and what is the current disposal fee need to be answered. If the average income level of every household is very high compared to the disposal fee, most of the residents would prefer to pay the small disposal fee than to recycle their waste. Recycling of waste could be a tedious process and would require time and effort from residents. Nothing is known about the residents of Mason town. In case they are rich and lazy, they would not think twice about saving money. Such a fee might be insignificantly small to most of the residents.

However, If a strict law is passed by the government for recycling of waste and if a heavy fine is levied on the residents, then the circumstances might change. People might take up recycling as they do not have a choice, consequently, money would also be saved. The success of Haynesworth can be attributed to the fact that it imposed a compulsion on its residents, However, the same can't be said about Masontown because an advertising campaign would not be very influential.

In conclusion, the authors claim that an advertising campaign would be successful in changing the habit of the residents is without basis. Hence the prediction that Masontown will save disposal fee is unwarranted.