The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview: " In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing." Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument made by the mayor in the memo is flawed for numerous reasons.The Mayor's argument that the City Council has to authorise a large campaign to attract a car manufacturing company has been made on the grounds of several unwarranted assumptions, thus rendering the conclusion invalid.

Mayor's intentions of attracting the car manufacturing giant to build a plant in Hillview to alleviate unemployment is justifiable, however, this plan does not seem to be feasible. Most of the resident who are unemployed now where previously employed in a Computer software programming company which has very little relevance to a car manufacturing company. These unemployed people may be skilled at computer programming but one cannot assume that the car manufacturing company would hire people skilled at computer programming. It may be possible that the car manufacturing company is looking forward to hiring people with different sets of skills and not necessarily computer skills. Thus, there is no job guarantee for these unemployed people even if the car manufacturing plant is built.

Even if the City Council authorises the campaign to attract the company, it is unjustifiable to assume that Autotech would be willing to establish the plant at Hillview. The company would consider a number of factors like,availability of resources, climate , water supply etc, before building the plant. Even if Hillview is an ideal location for the plant, construction of the plant itself would take years. And Mayor makes an unwarranted assumption that people of Hillview would be willing to work as construction labourers. Ir might also be true that Autotech's plant is fully automated and it would not require any manpower at all.

Thus without answering the questions regarding the interest and the skill set of the people of Hillview, it is incorrect to assume that the building of the plant would increase employment . Therefore the conclusion made by the mayor is without basis and it fails to make a convincing case.