The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview: " In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, whi

The author of this argument claims that the Hilview town which was previously abandoned by the computech software company left the city residents unemployed,hence it would be a prudent measurement to encourage the Autotech company to build their manufacturing plant which could alleviate the city ravaged by scourge of unemployment.It might seem logical,at first glance, to concur with this argument but thorough appraisal reveals that the claim is rife with loopholes.

First of all,we need to dig a bit deeper to know the exact reason of abandonment of the computech company.There may be plethora of reasons for such decisions for instance, may be the local people resist them from doing so.As a new factory or company always attract people from neighboring city,hence they could create some cultural hindrance.Sometimes political uprising and other social problems impede such foundation.Therefore, Its important to have the knowledge about the political and social situation of that particular town.

Secondly, The author did not mention about the communication and transportation system in that town. If takes several hours fo daily commute, in that case the assertion will inevitably fall apart.Furthermore its also important to know the distance from the distributor to the Hillview landfill area.If the Autocompany has to bear a huge amount of expense on transportation that would make their business unprofitable. In addition, if the company needs to pay hefty tax on imported parts that would make the situation even worse.In such circumstances they would be less likely to set up the factory.

However,the author mentions about the employment issue but he does not mention whether the residents in that town are really suitable for that job.If the residents are not technically qualified to carry out the job,then how would it serve the purpose of employment.

To sum up,the argument is based on some faulty speculations which makes it unwarranted and flawed.We need more pieces of information to substantiate the feasibility of such recommendation.