An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

An ailing patients has all the rights on the Earth to decide who he/she wants to be treated by whether a doctor who is a renowned professional in his/her field or the one who has high success rates. But making this decision based on having an easy access to the doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients is not valid on the part of the patients' records who wants to keep it confidential. The same ailing patient would have issues if his/her record is available to anyone, in a way diminishing his/her right of freedom. If a person is suffering from a life-threatening disease , say cancer, and doesn't want her young kids or relatives to know about her ailment, she would be highly distressed if her reports where available to anyone who wanted to access it. The patient's case is highly confidential between the doctor and the patient. If the patients are volunteering willing to share their records to anyone or some other patient, it would be advisable that they sign a non-objectionable certificate to avoid any mishaps in future.

Let's consider a situation where a doctor has 99% successful rate in treating a certain type of disease, but this doesn't assure the patient that he will be 100% successful in treating her completely. It is quite possible that even though she is suffering from the same ailment but the degree of severity is too high in her case compared to all the cases the doctor has dealt till date. Hence, it is a wrong way to measure the doctor based on the record of previous patients that he has treated. In fact, one needs to instil his/her faith in the doctor that he would be successful and try every little thing under his professional knowledge to save or treat the patient in the best possible was, because in most cases, the doctor is the only option the patient has.

There are many other different ways in which a doctor can be considered suitable by the patient to treat him/her, which may include the years of practice the doctor has in his field- which implies that he has dealt with a wide array of ailments of varying degrees. One other way, instead of accessing the records of previous patients would be to personally meet the patients. The patients would be sympathetic as well as empathetic while discussing what they feel about the doctor and also about the ailment that they are or were suffering. In this modern era thanks to the social networking sites, it has become quite easy to contact people- the patients.

On the other side, there are some advantages of easy access to the doctor's record of treating similarly ailing patients to his/her potential patients provided the name of the patients treated is kept completely anonymous when the information is shared. This helps to make a comprehensive analysis about the ailment as well as the doctor. The sharing of the record can also be helpful to potential future doctors, researchers and other doctors working in the same field.

Keeping the confidentiality of the patient in mind, and also to help other patients, doctors, researchers, and other having a keen interest, easy access of records of previous patients can be made available considering both the pros and cons in mind.