"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this memo, the Mayor of Brindleburg makes the argument that a new municipal golf course and resort hotel would create additional tax revenue, which could be used to improve the cities roads, bridges, and other government funded areas. This claim is based on the fact that a similar plan was carried out in Seaside Vista, and was successful. However, the Mayor of Brindleberg fails to answer many vital questions surrounding his argument, rendering his proof incomplete.

First off, the question of Seaside Vista in relation to the city of Brindleburg must be addressed. This argument provides no context regarding the similarity of the two cities. Perhaps the Mayor thought this information was superfluous at best, but in reality, this information is what the argument hinges on. For all we know, Seaside Vista may be a west coast tourist town, while Brindleburg may be a Midwestern agricultural community. A golf course vacation town would certainly thrive in a wealthy vacation town, but the socio-economics differ city to city. We don’t even have any proof that the cities are located in the same country! Comparing these locations is problematic without further information about the two cities and their populations. If this question was answered, we would be better able to judge whether Seaside Vista’s increased tourism can be applied to Brindleburg.

Another question that is left unanswered is in regards to the extraneous events occurring in these two cities, and how those events may have affected the 20% increase in visitors. The Mayor makes an assumption that the increase in visitors is directly correlated with the new golf course, failing to look at other details that could have affected this growth. Other new tourist attractions aside from the golf course could be responsible. For example, if Seaside Vista recently opened a public beach, this could be what is drawing in tourists. Without knowledge of other possible draws to the city, the assumption that the golf course is the sole cause is unreliable. If the Mayor were able to answer this question and provide a compilation of other possible attractions and their respective attendance, the argument in favor of a golf course would be strengthened.

Lastly, the assumption is made that the increase in tax money in Seaside Vista is a direct result of the successful new golf course. However, a sharp increase in taxes could be frustrating to the inhabitants of Brindleburg, causing them to move away in favor of a town with lower taxation. A waning population would be detrimental to the success of both the golf course and the city itself. By choosing not to address the issue of taxation’s effect on the community, the Mayor is leaving out an important part of this argument. The heightened taxation could have lasting negative effects that outweigh the positives that a golf course would provide.

Though a new municipal golf course may seem like a favorable idea, the proof backing up this claim is superficial at best. The argument scratches the surface level but never answers any deeper questions regarding the differences between Seaside Villa and Brindleburg. Unless these questions are addressed, the claim will remain full of holes and lacking in reliability.