Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today's world, technology seems to have permeated each and every crevice of our day to day lives. We cannot leave the house without our cell phones, our cars can send messages to our loved ones while directing us where to go, and by simply asking a question to empty air, our computers can proclaim an answer without hesitation. With such rapidly advancing technology, one may believe that our lives will become overcrowded and complicated. However, this abundance of technology is simplifying our lives and creating a dynamic and exciting world.

The ease that accompanies this kind of advanced technology makes our lives significantly less complicated and confusing. For example, our phones, tablets, and computers have the ability to plan our day, making it possible for us to complete tasks with far more efficiancy and speed. Agendas are automatically planned for us, notifying us what time our appointments are and how early we must leave the house to get there on time. A modern cell phone is even able to recognize that you have not left the house yet and activate a reminder alarm. This kind of technology has become vital within the face paced modern world. The fact that our computers, phones, and watches are able to complete these menial tasks for us allows us to focus our brainpower on complex problems, saving time and effort.

One arena in which technology has boomed greatly in the past century is within the automotive world. Our society today is highly transient, and it is rare that any household not have a vehicle parked in the driveway. Years ago, a car was only capable of transporting one from place to place. However, nowadays, cars are nearly autonomous. No matter how lost we are, with a simple push of a button, they are able to guide us home. GPS is able to redirect the driver away from traffic, ensuring that the passangers are able to reach their destination with time to spare. Certain high tech cars are even equipped with the technology to detect whether the driver is inebriated by testing blood alcohol level - if they test above the legal limit, the car will not turn on. This kind of technology has the ability to save lives and make the road much safer. Not only that, it allows for the user to have a more simplified driving experience - their car does the work for them, giving them the freedom relax, comforted by the knowledge that the vehicle will not allow them to get lost or be late.

Despite the ease and simplicity that technology seems to bring to our lives, this technology boom drastically impacted the kinds of lives humans now lead. Those born prior to cell phones, computers, autonomous vehicles, and Siri often reminisce about the simplicity of life prior to these advancements. They remember a time when it was instinct to play outside in order to alleviate boredom. Instead of sending vague pick-up lines through a dating app, teenagers simply picked up the phone and made a call to their romantic interest, asking to see a movie or take a walk together. With the influx of technology, these pastimes fell by the wayside. In that way, technology has actually complicated our lives, causing us to forget the "simpler times. "

Nowadays, a screen is rarly farther than a few footsteps away. Giant computers have been reduced to compact sizes, capable of sitting on our wrists. We can track our health, plan our daily agendas, and calculate the fastest route with a simple push of a button. These advancements in technology undoubtedly make our lives simpler, exerting effort on our behalf so that we can focus on tasks that are better suited for the dynamic human brain.