SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this arguement beleives that Supercorp made a good decision in moving it's headquarters from Middleburg to Corporateville. While the author does offer some explanations as to why Middleburg is superier, he/she does not substantiate the claims, leaving the arguement rife with holes and assumptions that render the arguement untrustworthy.

First, the author claims that the surge in homeownders in Corporateville directly indicates that the location is a superior place to live. By claiming this, the author makes the assumption that quality of life is congruent to quantity of citizens. However, this is a flawed arguement. A high amount of homeowners does not necessarily mean that the city is superior. We are given no information on the types of homes or the socio-economic status of Corporateville. If the homes in Corporateville were small, low quality homes in an inconvenient area, the quality of life would not be enjoyable to incoming homeowners. A poverty-stricken area may very well be well populated, but that doesn't necessarily mean it is a "better" place to live.

Further, the author uses the results of an employee survey that showed workers prefer to live in areas that are not urban. Without any further information about this survey, we must take it's results with a grain of salt. We don't know how many employees were surveyed or where these employees are from. If the employees surveyed were, say, all older generations with families, the desire for a more suburban area would make sense. However, if the survey did not interview a wide range of ages, it may not reflect the fact that a larger amount of SuperCorp's employees are young business-people who thrive in the big city. By blindly trusting a survey, the author makes the assumption that all of SuperCorp would prefer a suburban setting. This runs the risk of alienating part of SuperCorp's employee base, failing to ask about their desires and possibly causing them to leave the company our of a desire to work in a big city.

Lastly, the author makes the assumption that lower taxes corrolates with a cheaper place to work. Unfortunately, this is not always a true statement. While government taxes may be cheaper in Corporateville, cost of living in Corporateville very well may be high. High rent prices, expensive amenities, pricey transportation methods - these are all unrelated to taxes and would create a community that is not what one would call "cheap." However, if the author was able to back of this claim with evidence of a cheaper lifestyle, then this arguement may become legitimate; for example, if they included prices of gas, food, transportation, and education in the surrounding area, then the assumption that Corporateville would be a cheaper place to live would be far more believable.

Without a more detailed analysis of the arguements set forth by the author, the claim that Supercorp made the best decision by moving to Corporateville is shaky at. By making assumptions regarding employee preferences, quality of life, and cost of living, the arguement becomes flawed and untrustworthy, depending too heavily on possibly biased or incomplete data. In order to rightfully prove that Supercorp did indeed make the right decision, the author must address these assumptions and provide ample evidence to back them up.