Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education institutions may very well be tempted to urge children into fields of study that are sure the provide for them ample job opportunities. However, doing so would prove to cause more ham than good. Encouraging students to pursue fields of study across a wide scope of topics – not just those in which jobs are plentiful – is essential to a well functioning society.

In today’s day and age, the field of technology is growing rapidly – so rapidly, in fact, that jobs greatly outnumber applicants. Under this argument, students should be pushed into technological fields in order to fill this need for computer scientists and engineers. However, this would leave other equally important roles by the wayside. After all, what is a community without culture? The job market for painters, poets, and photographers is far from wanting, but these roles are inherently important to the culture of society. Artistic expression is vital, and the lifeblood of a society. We praise the works of Shakespeare, the photographs of Andy Warhol, the voice of Whitney Houston. By advocating only for these technological jobs, we are devaluing the validity of the arts, creating a society that lacks color and depth. Those with less marketable skill sets will be left wondering if they even fit into society at all.

Students are diverse in their beliefs, values, talents, and aspirations. One student may be a math whiz while her classmate may be a musical prodigy. Fostering these dreams and desires is incredibly important to mental health and well being of our youth. An artist who is forced into a technological field of study may struggle immensely. Their right-brain dominated mind, which is highly skilled at the creative, would not succeed in a computer science class in which creativity is all but relinquished. A perpetually struggling student who cannot grasp the complexity of physics would likely be quickly discouraged, causing mental and emotional distress. A distressed child grows up into a distressed adult, and a distressed adult would be hard pressed to succeed. These individuals would contribute little to their field, forced to live stagnant lives that offer to satisfaction. It is those who are passionate about their field that contribute most to the world.

It is important, however, to acknowledge the importance of educational institutions in the lives of impressionable children. By encouraging students to pursue fields of study that are more likely to land them jobs, schools are working to have the child’s best interest in mind, setting them up for a successful life. Though many would argue the demerits of such a society, it is undeniable that our world today is a capitalistic one. Income is a large factor in measuring quality of life, and by urging students to pursue careers in which they will have an easier time making and keeping a high income, these educational institutions are working to create the a future in which less of the population experience the hardships of poverty.

Pushing students into fields of study in which they are most likely to find jobs may seem like the ultimate act of goodwill, but as a whole society will not flourish under this mindset. Careers in math, science, and engineering are innately important, but lower earning sectors such as music and the arts are essential to the cultural diversity of society. Allowing students to pursue their desired paths, whatever they may be, allows for greater happiness, which in turn helps create a successful society.