Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Instructions

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The author’s argument that those who see their ideas through regardless of criticism and doubts of others will leave lasting legacies has reigned true throughout history. All over the world, millions of people have ideas with the potential to be great, but so many of these ideas are left by the wayside at the first mention of criticism, or the first hint of doubt and discouragement. However, when a person sticks by their idea and fights for it, that idea often breaks through the bounds of mediocrity and becomes something great, moving, and important to society.

The world today is not an overwhelmingly friendly place, and in our fast paced and largely capitalistic society, there is immense competition. Those who are able to rise to the top of the competition are those who are willing to fight for their ideas and resist against those who want to brush them aside. The people who are willing to see their ideas through are often the leaders, the legacies, and the lead characters in inspirational stories of determination and perseverance.

There are many compelling examples of ideas that received much criticism and even hatred, but then ended up being revolutionary. The Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. was a strong advocate for equal rights among races, but his opinion was not popular among the majority of the dominant white population. Thousands of people not only critiqued his viewpoint, but also even harassed and incited violence towards him and his followers due to his ideas. If Martin Luther King had given up on his ideas and retreated from the violence and hatred he was facing, the civil rights movement would surely not be what is was. However, he and his followers were steadfast in their beliefs, and Martin Luther King Jr. is now a name known and taught to everyone in the United States.

A consequence of this belief, however, is the possibility that those who stand by their ideas regardless of criticism may not ever be willing to improve their ideas. Without criticism, ideas may become stagnant and surface level – it is the criticism that allows for improvement and growth, creating something that will stand the test of time.

Overall, the argument works to motivate an encourage people to stand by their ideas in the face of adversity, allowing for greatness. Some of the greatest ideas have been questioned and critiques incessantly, and if the creator had not stood by their ideas, our world would be undoubtedly different.