To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the po

San Francisco, Los Angeles, and New York, just some of the big cities that come to mind when you think of the United States. From a foreigner’s perspective, one might come to the conclusion that they can characterize the society in America from the traits of big cities. However, cities are hubs of fads that indicate temporary important characteristics of a people, but not always long withstanding important ideals of a society.

Taking a deeper looking into Los Angeles and San Francisco reveal how cities hoist a lot of people who are into the latest fads. Recently there has been a surge of yoga studios, vegan friendly restaurants and eco-friendly products. These characteristics can lead someone to deduce that Americans value exercise, their diet, and the earth. However, this does not speak to all of America that boasts a high rate of obesity and a large trash consumption. It is also important to characterize what defines a “society.” If one is trying to find the most important characteristics of California, they would not be too far off from what California values. However if trying to describe all of America, this would be far from the truth.

Moreover, one must also take into account the type of people big cities attract. Cities mostly comprise of younger adults than they do families. To find the lack of children in the city and come to the conclusion that Americans do not have a lot of children would be false since most families live in the suburbs, a more family conducive environment. However, a lot of larger and big events occur in major cities, such a protests and strikes. The Black Lives Matters movement garnered more traction protesting in the city than in the suburbs and thus someone evaluating major cities might notice a significant amount of political action. While all of America might have differing opinions on the movement, its safe to say that it is something that caught the attention of the country and would be characterized as important to the country regardless of their point of view.

Given these points, analyzing major cities can lead to an ambiguous conclusion about a society. Some major finds in cities are often temporary trends that will be out of style in a couple months, and aren’t defining characteristics of a people. However, cities are large grouping points where people from a range of areas come to meet to collaborate and share ideas. In these ideas are some ideals that American people as a whole belief in or at least find importance in.