To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

Ever since his evolution on this planet, human being is known as the most intelligent animal. Eventually, man’s propensity turned towards creating his own world in this world, namely society- made himself called as a social animal. Since than, many countries, are being ruled by thousands of rulers introducing newer and evolutionary aspects into their respective societies. Such new aspects or characteristics were carved in the histories, man decided to materialize them, leading him to include their lifestyles of their ages in their architectures. Sometimes, even inducing new architectural style as a symbol that gives the ambiance their culture for the people who visit the place and know it’s rules and regulations and live it. Hence, I agree that one must study the main cites in order to get to know the characteristics of that particular society.

The ancient man started this ‘trend’ of carrying on the culture or the practices to the next generation by putting them on his artificial products. This trend was carried on by the rulers. Take for example the ancient Hoysala Empire. The beautiful temples like Virupaksha, in which the practices of the denizens during those times are beautifully carved. Some of the substantiations are being used as a prototypes in the contemporary age as a result of generations carrying on that practice. For an instance, the practice of court and the declaration of judgment by the judge are being derived from the ancient culture itself. These ancient practices are visibly available to see in those important cites of society.

Moreover, the important places of a place is where most of the people of the visit. From where an outside might get an idea of the major aspects of that place. To exemplify this statement, we can consider the very beautiful Golden temple at Amritsar of Punjab. The community of Sikhs, known for their kind and helping nature as well as their spartan personalities by knowing that a Sikh must always carry a sword to protect the people and the turban on head symbolizing some other positive aspect. These can be tacitly understood if one studies the major cites of that particular society.

However, one can also argue that they can follow the guidelines written by some author to survive in that particular society. But, According to me, the author of that particular book must have gone to explore the major cites of that society. Some of the untouched aspects by that author should be learnt too by one, in order to survive in that society in a viable manner.

In a nutshell, By using the above mentioned substantiations we can say clearly that man has to touch and explore the important aspects as well as the man made locations of that particular society, in order to get to know fully understand it’s characteristics.