Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The assertion made in the given prompt regarding the uniquely styled ‘Palean’ baskets. It is definitively asserted that they are not Palean at all based on few assumptions. However, the conclusion made by the author of this prompt might hold water as it rests on some of the unfounded assumptions if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. The given assumptions can be substantiated by using few aspects by the author.

Firstly, the author says that the Lithos found in the village across the Brim River from Palea mentions about the woven basket. But, it is not mentioned or thought how effectively or in what context this was mentioned in the Lithos. It may assert that the village across the river makes the woven baskets. It might also be the unique kind of basket that is being originated in that particular village in it’s rustic styles without even knowing the existence of the Palean basket. There might be a misinterpretation of this conjecture by the author in this prompt questioning the origin of that basket.

Moreover, the author mentions that there is no way to cross the Brim River that separates the two villages as it is broad and deep. But, this makes lesser sense as the ancient men undoubtedly knew the other techniques too to cross the river if they couldn’t make boats. They could swim or build a bridge which might have collapsed, not being able to recognize by the author. Thus this might be the strong point on which the author has to hover over in order to come over the second conclusion.

Even though the assertion made by the author regarding absence of boats kind of goad us to question the originality of the baskets, that might not be the aspect to attribute it to that. The Palean baskets are designed in their unique manner. The word of mouth might have spread their aesthetic styles to more than it’s vicinity. That might also have made those ancient sketchers on the Lithos to mention about that Basket.

In a nutshell, on asserting that the Palean baskets are not really Palean by the author of the prompt, may come to the second decision : more data is needed before a firm conclusion to be reached. If the author answers or substantiates more clearly about the above given examples, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.