To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether, one must study its major cities or not to understand the most important characteristics of a society. Indisputably, no one can understand the essential characteristics by studying major cities without including the minor cities. Nevertheless, it is very important to understand the small towns, cities to truly understand the characteristics of the society. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that one must study its major cities to understand the vital characteristics of a society, and would argue that small towns, cities are also important to consider to truly understand the essential characteristics of the society.

First of all, in a developing country, where majority of its population lives in rural or town areas. It is important to consider the small towns and cities. I would like to point out that the bucolic areas are the ones whom truly capture the sense of characteristics one needs to understand the society in a whole. To illustrate, let us look at the example of India, where 70% of its population lives in rural areas and only 30% of its population lives in urban areas (Major Cities). In this circumstance, obviously, one won’t be able to understand India considering only the major cities. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that rural areas play a very important role in understanding the important characteristics of a society.

Furthermore, to know about the cultural and traditional background of India, looking into their major cities will only provide an overview. Metropolitan cities like Delhi, Bangalore etc have very less to offer in terms of India's history of culture and traditions. To truly understand their society and background, it is necessary to visit the countryside or further explore some other cities to learn about their culture, heritage and past.

Admittedly, another popular example is Paris in France. Paris is no doubt the fashion hub of the country and has some widely popular tourist attractions but looking alone into Paris would not give enough information about entire France like their major contribution in Cheese production, wine and vineyards, perfumes etc. For that it is necessary to look into the small villages and towns and not just the major cities.

To sum up, Major cities will always provide information and various important characteristics of a society. However, one can truly know about a country's culture and society by studying the smaller cities and towns along with the major cities for a more accurate knowledge.