To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

While it may seem logical to understand the most important characteristics of a society by judging the major cities on first thought, it is, in reality a narrow-minded and hasty approach to judge the characteristics of a society.

To truly understand the culture of a society, one must live among the very people all over the country and not just among the major cities. Take for example India, where more than 60% of the population lives in rural areas. A country as diverse as India has various cultures and religions spread throughout the nation. To understand the roots of these cultural and religious ideologies, surveying metropolises won’t be enough. One needs to observe and interact with the small cities all over the country.

Economy is an important characteristic of a society. We can understand the working of economy of a country superficially by judging the major cities. But to gain an in depth knowledge and to understand the reasons why the economy is in the current state, we must analyze the all the factors affecting it and these factors wont necessarily be found in a major city. Take for example, the a big country like China. Do you think we can understand China’s economy just by judging the major cities like Beijing?

Due to westernisation, many people tend to loose their cultural identities after shifting to big cities. It is easier to find and reason the old cultural practices in a small, rural city rather than a big one. In India, all the diverse and cultural treasure is found mostly in the rural areas. While due to the heavy influence of the west, the cultural practices tend to dissolve in big cities like Mumbai and Delhi.

In conclusion, to truly gain realistic insights of a society, one must understands people’s way of living, not just in the big cities but all over the nation.